#WWC2015: Looking Back to 2011

The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup begins in Canada on 6 June.
The Tournament opens with two games in Edmonton: Canada v China PR and New Zealand v Netherlands.
The official website provides information about the schedule and the twenty-four teams taking part in six Groups.
The last World Cup was held in Germany. The Group games in this 2011 Tournament were played in four pools of four teams.
I have some information about the Group games here.
Eight teams qualified for the Knockout stage of the Tournament. Information about the Knockout stage can be found here.
In 2011:

  • 86 goals were scored in the 32 games
  • The team that scored the first goal won 24 games, drew 2 games and lost 5 games of the 32 games played. There was one 0-0 draw.
  •  The higher FIFA ranked team (18 March 2011 ranking) won 22 games, drew 3 games and lost 7 games of the 32 games played.
  •  There were 3 penalty shoot outs in the Tournament.

Photo Credit

Broke out the HDR … (Explored) (Jeff Wallace, CC BY-NC 2.0)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here