RWC2011: Winning Performances

The 2011 Rugby World Cup (RWC 2011) concluded on 23 October.
A total of 48 Games were played in the Tournament (40 Pool Games, 8 Knockout Games).
In the 48 games played:

  • The highest winning margin was 87 points (South Africa v Namibia)
  • The higher IRB ranked team won 43 out of the 48 games played.
  • Four lower ranked team won: Canada (14) defeated Tonga (12); Ireland (8) defeated Australia (2); Argentina (9) defeated Scotland (7); Tonga (12) defeated France (4).
  • There was one drawn game Japan (13) drew with Canada (14).
  • The higher ranked team scored the first converted try, was leading at half time and won on 28 occasions in 48 games played.
  • 261 tries were scored (116 in the first half, 145 in the second half).

Detailed information about the Group Games can be found here and the Knockout Games here.
Data from the Tournament can be found at the official RWC2011 website.
Photo Credit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here