RWC2011: Group Games

The 2011 Rugby World Cup (RWC 2011) Group Stage concluded on 2 October.

A total of 40 Games were played in four pools. Eight teams progressed to the Knockout Stage in the Tournament. The IRB Rankings (5 September 2011) of these teams were: New Zealand (1);  Australia (2); South Africa (3); France (4); England (5); Wales (6); Ireland (8); Argentina (9).

Scotland (7) were the only highly ranked team not to progress.

In the 40 games played:

  • The highest winning margin was 87 points (South Africa v Namibia)
  • The higher IRB ranked team won 35 out of the 40 games played.
  • Four lower ranked team won: Canada (14) defeated Tonga (12); Ireland (8) defeated Australia (2); Argentina (9) defeated Scotland (7); Tonga (12) defeated France (4).
  • There was one drawn game Japan (13) drew with Canada (14).
  • The higher ranked team scored the first converted try, was leading at half time and won on 26 occasions in 40 games played.
  • 241 tries were scored (108 first half, 133 second half).
  • 1o referees officiated in four games each.

Detailed information about the Group Games can be found here.

Photo Credits

France v Tonga

NZ v Canada

Both photographs were taken by Stewart Baird.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.