Performance at the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup: Knockout Games

The teams that qualified for the Knockout Stage of the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup in FIFA World Ranking order (18 March 2011) were:

  • USA (1)
  • Germany (2)
  • Brazil (3)
  • Japan (4)
  • Sweden (5)
  • France (7)
  • England (10)
  • Australia (11)

In the Knockout Stage:

26 goals were scored in the 8 games played.

The team that scored first won 5 games out of the 8 games played.


England (FIFA Rank 10) scored first against France (7) but lost (in a penalty shoot out after extra time was played).

Sweden (5) scored first against Japan (4) and lost.

USA (1) scored first against Japan (4) but lost (in a penalty shoot out after extra time was played).

The higher FIFA ranked team won 6 of the 8 games played:


Germany (2) lost to Japan (4)

USA (1) lost to Japan (4)

Goals scored in the Knockout Stage (team scoring goal in bold with link to video of the goals):

2 DAIANE (USA v Brazil) (own goal)

9 Lauren CHENEY (USA v France)

10 Josefine OQVIST (Sweden v Japan)

11 Therese SJOGRAN (Sweden v Australia)

16 Lisa DAHLKVIST (Sweden v Australia)

19 Nahomi KAWASUMI (Japan v Sweden)

29 Lotta SCHELIN (Sweden v France)

40 Ellyse PERRY (Australia v Sweden)

52 Lotta SCHELIN (Sweden v Australia)

55 Sonia BOMPASTOR (France v USA)

56 Elodie THOMIS (France v Sweden)

59 Jill SCOTT (England v France)

60 Homare SAWA (Japan v Sweden)

64 Nahomi KAWASUMI (Japan v Sweden)

68 MARTA (Brazil v USA)

69 Alex MORGAN (USA v Japan)

79 Abby WAMBACH (USA v France)

81 Aya MIYAMA (Japan v USA)

82 Alex MORGAN (USA v France)

82 Maria HAMMARSTROM (Sweden v France)

88 Elise BUSSAGLIA (France v England)

Extra Time Goals

92 MARTA (Brazil v USA) (Penalty)

104 Abby WAMBACH (USA v Japan)

108 Karina MARUYAMA (Japan v Germany)

117 Homare SAWA (Japan v USA)

120+2 Abby WAMBACH (USA v Brazil)

Penalty Shoot Outs

There were 3 penalty shoot outs in the Knockout Stage two in the quarter finals and one in the final:

France defeated England 4-3. France took the first penalty. Sequence:

0-0 (France miss), 0-1, 1-1, 1-2, 2-2, 2-3, 3-3, 3-3 (England miss), 4-3, 4-3 (England miss).

USA defeated Brazil 5-3. USA took the first penalty. Sequence:

1-0, 1-1, 2-1, 2-2, 3-2, 3-2 (Brazil miss), 4-2, 4-3, 5-3.

Japan defeated USA 3-1. USA took the first penalty. Sequence:

0-0 (USA miss), 0-1, 0-1 (USA miss), 0-1 (Japan miss), 0-1 (USA miss), 0-2, 1-2, 1-3.

Referees in the Knockout Stage:

Jenny Palmqvist (SWE) England v France (2 goals scored)

Quetzalli Avarado (MEX) Japan v Germany (1 goal)

Silvia Reyes (PER) Sweden v Australia (4 goals)

Jacqui Melksham (AUS) Brazil v USA (4 goals)

Kirsi Heikkinen (FIN) France v USA (4 goals)

Carol Anne CHENARD (CAN) Japan v Sweden (4 goals)

Kari SEITZ (USA) Sweden v France (3 goals)

Bibiana STEINHAUS (GER) Japan v USA (4 goals)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.