Winning the W-League 2011-2012: Canberra United

Canberra United were the undefeated champions of the 2011-2012 W-League season.
They played twelve games in total: 10 games in the regular season and 2 in finals games.
The team won 9 games (7 regular season, 2 finals games) and drew 3 games.
Canberra United finished third in the 2010-2011 W-League competition and in the 2011-2012 season had a new coach, Jitka Klimkova.
The end of the regular season 2011-2012 ladder was:

In their twelves games, Canberra United:

  • Scored first in eight games
  • Had one 0-0 game (v Sydney)
  • Were one goal down in three games (Perth Glory, Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory)

Canberra United defeated a higher ranked team (2010-2011) in Game 3 (Sydney) and drew with a a higher ranked team (2010-2011) in Game 6 (Brisbane Roar). Both these games were played away from home.
The team was very successful in scoring consecutive goals:

  • v Adelaide (three second half goals in 20 minutes)
  • v Perth Glory (three second half goals in 16 minutes)
  • v Melbourne Victory (two first half goals in 15 minutes)
  • v Newcastle (two goals)
  • v Brisbane (two goals)
  • v Newcastle (two second half goals in 11 minutes)
  • v Adelaide (five goals in total, 2 goals in 6 minutes in the first half and 3 goals in 10 minutes in the second half)
  • v Brisbane (two first half goals in 7 minutes)

It took Canberra from:

  • the 21st minute in the first half until the 64th minute in the second half to equalise against Perth (Game 2)
  • the 8th minute in the first half to the 12th minute in the first half to equalise against Brisbane (Game 6)
  • the 20th minute in the first half until 81st minute in the second half to equalise against Melbourne Victory (Game 9)

Photo Credit


Leave a Reply to W-League Regular Season 2012-2013 | Clyde Street Cancel reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here